Newsletter March 2008

Annual General Meeting

Those members not able to come along on 11 March missed a great evening!

The meeting kicked off with drinks and networking followed by a presentation from Jim Zack Jr, Immediate Past President of AACEI (Association for Advancement of Cost Engineering International). Jim updated us on current AACEI developments with particular focus on professional certification.

Opening the 2008 AGM, outgoing Chair, Graham Duff, provided details of the past yearbs activities, followed by an update on National Committee proceedings presented by Keith Webb (National Chair) and the financial status presented by outgoing treasurer, Con Pitsikas.

Office bearers were elected for the coming year and are listed later in this newsletter. Some new faces have joined the committee and a number of the last yearbs committee have agreed to stand for a further term in office. To those unable to continue this year, thank you for your valuable contribution. To the new and continuing committee members thank you for agreeing to taking on the responsibilities of serving in office for the 2008/9 year.

Technical Sessions

The committee is looking forward to an interesting and productive year in terms of technical presentations providing avenues for education, personal development and networking with our fellow project controls professionals. The new committee is planning an eventful year. To keep things moving along we are planning the first morning technical meeting as a breakfast session on Thursday 3 April. Therebll be the opportunity to meet the new committee, get an update on events including an overview of Jim Zackbs 11 March presentation and a technical presentation in addition, of course, to enjoying to a hearty breakfast. The flyer is in preparation and will be circulated shortly for completion and return. Please flag 3 April in your diary.


Those who are not as yet members and would like to take up membership, an application form can be downloaded from the home page of this site. Once completed, the form can be faxed or posted b details are on the form.

Office Bearers

Chair Carole Bruce
Vice Chair Lea Liston
Secretary Position Vacant
Treasurer Shauna Thomson
Technical Session Coordinator Carole Bruce
Website Coordinator Alan Webb
General committee Graham Duff (Immediate Past Chair)
General committee Fintan Delaney
General committee Tony Kelly
General committee Mark Taylor
General committee Steve Cartner
General committee Keith Webb (National Chair)
Membership Officer Position Vacant

Vacant Positions

If you missed out on being elected to a position at the AGM, therebs still a chance to contribute this year in one of the slots still to be filled above. Herebs a great opportunity to upskill in the team environment with neither role being particularly onerous. The secretarybs role is to prepare a set of action minutes following the committee each month, and record any incoming or outgoing correspondence. The membership coordinator is responsible for receiving and keeping track of new applications and membership details update. Please consider if you are able to spare just a few hours of your valuable time. If you would like to nominate yourself, please email or make yourself known to one of the committee members.

Carole Bruce
Chair WA Chapter